So some of you may or may not be surprised but Mike and I are planning on going back to Asia. On paper, I did fairly well in Canada. I found a place, found a well paying job in my field rather quickly, and I do have some great friends and family, here. But...
I was regretting coming home even before I arrived. I was haunted with this feeling of, "I'm just not done, yet." When I came back, I accounted this continuing feeling with reverse culture shock, which I'm sure a lot of it was/is. The job did not live up to my expectations, and for the first time in many years, I found myself envious of other people's lives. I think it partially had to do with the fact that due to having this job fall in my lap, I was unable to do all the things I had planned to do in Canada.
I struggled with these feelings for awhile, and eventually decided to go back. Not immediately, but hopefully at the end of the summer. The plan is to go to Korea for another year, this will be good for Mike and my pockets, plus I just love it there. We are going to do a
CELTA course afterwards
which will allow us to live in Thailand for a few weeks. We will then be more qualified to teach in some other countries as well as at home eventually. The one thing that I DID like about my job was when I got to be in the classroom with the kids (as rare as that was) so, I'm going to focus on this for awhile.
Until all of this happens, I will be in Canada, spending as much time with you as possible, with the goal to be for you to get sick of me, so that you're happy when I go!
*I do not intend for this to come off anti-Canada in any way, shape or form. I'm definitely not anti-Canadians either, I love you all!